Conference News

First Annual American Literature Association Conference

The first annual conference sponsored by the American Literature Association will be held at the Bahia Resort Hotel in San Diego on May 31-June 3, 1990.

Among the panels currently being organized are ones on the slave narrative, the short story cycle, Jewish American fiction, science fiction, autobiography, Puritan literature, contemporary American poetry, and California writers.

Already slated to participate are: Charles Altieri, Nina Baym, Jackson Benson, Jackson Bryer, Lawrence Buell, Virginia Spencer Carr, Gloria Erlich, Giles Gunn, Susan K. Harris, Gordon Hutner, Arnold Krupat, Paul Lauter, Roy Harvey Pearce, Marjorie Perloff, Joel Porte, Daniel Walden, and Cynthia Griffin Wolff.

For further information, contact the conference director:

Alfred Bendixen
Department of English
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032

Contents, No. III